School Sisters of Notre Dame elect leaders for new province

| March 30, 2011 | 0 Comments

The School Sisters of Notre Dame, a Catholic congregation of women religious, are for­m­ing a new pro­vince in North America.

In June, the sisters of the current provinces in Mankato, Mil­wau­kee, St. Louis and Dallas will become a new province called School Sisters of Notre Dame of the Central Pacific Province.

At an election assembly March 14-18 in St. Louis, Sister Mary Anne Owens, SSND, of Dallas, was elected provincial leader of the new pro­vince. She is currently the executive director for Catholic Charities in Dallas. The eight provincial councilors who were elected are:

From Mankato: Sister Helen Jane Jaeb, Sister Marjorie Klein and Sister Dianne Perry, who is presently the director of development and communications.

From St. Louis: Sister Joan DiPros­pere, Sister Susan Jordan and Sister Carol Ann Prenger, who serves as pastoral associate for Hispanic ministry at St. Cecilia Parish in Kennett, Mo.

From Dallas: Sister Marie Elena Ferrer-Lopez. Also: Sister Kathryn Frank, who  works as health care program director of St. Ann Place in West Palm Beach, Fla.

Installation of the new leadership team will be Pentecost Sunday, June 12, at Notre Dame of Elm Grove in Elm Grove, Wis. More than 1,200 sisters will be ­united in this new Central Pacific Prov­ince, which is a reference to the central United States geographic location of the current campuses, the SSND ministries in the western and Pacific coast areas, and the sisters in Japan and Guam.

Tags: ,

Category: Local News, Spotlight