Seven men to be ordained transitional deacons May 4

| April 24, 2013 | 0 Comments

Seven men will be ordained as transitional deacons by Archbishop John Nienstedt during a Mass at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 4 at the Basilica of St. Mary, 88 17th St. N. in Minneapolis.

The five to be ordained for the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis are:

  • Michael Patrick Anthony Barsness — home parish: Annunciation in Hazelwood; teaching parish: Holy Family in St. Louis Park.
  • Kevin Lawrence Manthey — home parish: St. Michael in Farmington; teaching parish: St. John Neumann, Eagan.
  • Marcus Francis Milless — home parish: Epiphany in Coon Rapids; teaching parish: St. Francis Xavier in Buffalo.
  • Marc Vincent Paveglio — home parish: St. Stephen in Minneapolis; teaching parish: Our Lady of Peace in Minneapolis.
  • Paul Joseph Shovelain — home parish: St. Michael in St. Michael; teaching parish: St. Patrick’s of Cedar Creek in Oak Grove.

Two men will be ordained for the Archdiocese of Kampala, Uganda: Joseph Mukasa Kavuma (teaching parish: Our Lady of Grace in Edina) and Joseph Kirembwe (teaching parish: Holy Spirit in St. Paul).

Seminarians are ordained to the transitional diaconate before their last year of preparation for ordination to the priesthood.

Tags: , , ,

Category: Local News