Priest named moderator of new regional school

| March 14, 2012 | 0 Comments

Father Michael Rudolph, pastor of St. Michael in West St. Paul, was named moderator of the recently created and newly named Community of Saints Regional Catholic School in West St. Paul, effective Feb. 10. The school, which will be in operation in September 2012 and housed at St. Michael, is supported by the parishes of Our Lady of Guadalupe, St. John Vianney, St. Matthew and St. Mi­chael. According to the website,, the three parish schools are not merging or closing. But they will transition from parish schools into a regional school that will be economically sustainable and accessible to more students in the region.

Father Rudolph said that the parents and students involved in the parish schools chose the name, Community of Saints, and more than 200 students are already registered. The new name, he added, offers “an opportunity to talk about the community of saints and all the saints we honor and learn from and benefit us from their prayers. So it’s a teachable opportunity, too.”

Father Rudolph, who was ordained in 2005, previously served at St. Thomas the Apostle in Corcoran and St. Michael in St. Michael.

Deacon Steven Moses was named to serve as deacon at St. Dominic in Northfield. He was ordained a permanent deacon in 2000, and previously served at Divine Mercy in Faribault and as chaplain of the Rice County Sherriff’s Department.


Archbishop John C. Nienstedt, has announced the following appointments in the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis.

Effective Feb. 10, 2012
Rev. Michael Rudolph, appointed Moderator of the Community of Saints Regional Catholic School, for a three-year term.

Effective Feb. 22, 2012
Deacon Steven Moses, assigned ad nutum episcopi to exercise the ministry of a permanent deacon at the Church of Saint Dominic of Northfield. This is a transfer from his assignment at the Catholic Church of Divine Mercy of Faribault.

Tags: , , ,

Category: Appointments